On the night of the launch of the West Wicklow Historical Society’s website another ceremony took place. The Society marked the commitment of three of its longest serving active members. Peadar Cullen, Phyllis Flanagan and P.J. Hanlon were given Honorary Membership of the WWHS in recognition of their years of service.

Peadar and Phyllis were among the first members of the organisation, which was founded in 1980. Peadar served as Hon. Treasurer in 1980-1982 and 1995-2000, and as Chairman in 2001-2003. He has been on the Society’s committee every year since it was established, while Phyllis has been on it every year since 1981. She served as Hon. Treasurer on three separate occasions, amounting to a total of 21 years. P.J. Hanlon joined the WWHS a little later than his fellow recipients. He served on the committee for a very long period, being Vice Chairman in 1997-2003 and Chairman in 2004-2005.

The WWHS previously granted Honorary Membership to five individuals: Ben Case, Jimmy Doyle (Parkmore, Baltinglass), Paul Baker, Joe Doyle (Tuckmill) and Dorothy Leonard.

Pictured at the WWHS event on 24 January 2023 (l-r) Peadar Cullen, Phyllis Flanagan and Charlie Hanlon (representing his father P.J. Hanlon). Photo credit: John Hughes

Back to News and Events